• New Delhi
  • akumar@thetelecomconsultants.com
  • Opening Time : 10:30 AM - 10:00 PM

BIS Certification

BIS is the National Standard Body of India established under the BIS Act 2016 for the harmonious development of the activities of standardization, marking and quality certification of goods and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto. BIS has been providing traceability and tangibility benefits to the national economy in a number of ways – providing safe reliable quality goods,  minimizing health hazards to consumers,  promoting exports and imports substitute, control over proliferation of varieties etc. through standardization, certification and testing.

Keeping in view, the interest of consumers as well as the industry, BIS is involved in various activities as given below:


The list is constantly being extended and already covers a wide range of various product groups such as construction products and materials, household products, consumer and office electronics, dairy products and raw materials. It is to be expected that BIS will continue to take over more and more product certification areas from other authorities.

Products Certification according to the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) has been in place since July 2013 and is intended to guarantee quality, safety and reliability to third parties.

There are three types of Certifications within the Compulsory Registration Scheme (CRS):

1. The mandatory BIS certification including factory inspection.
2.The mandatory BIS certification without factory inspection.
3. The voluntary BIS certification.

Each type of certification also has its own mark, which is also mandatory.

Since new products are constantly being added to the BIS catalogue, it makes sense to clarify certification requirements of the individual products with the authorities. In some cases, it even makes a difference where you register your product because for the moment, standards are changing so quickly, that the individual officials themselves are not always up to date.

You should therefore expect a somewhat longer clarification phase in advance. Please also note that for many products the respective manufacturer must have their own internal product testing facilities in order to achieve BIS certification.

The BIS certification process always includes

1. Application
2. Product tests in India
3. Certification
4. Marking

Depending on the type of certification and which products are affected, a factory inspection and follow-up tests may also be required. If a factory inspection is required, the auditors will select test samples during the audit, thus extending the certification process by several months. You can also find the products for which an audit is mandatory on our BIS certification process page.

The certification is valid for two years, but the frequency of following tests also depends on the type of product. Classification of a product can be complicated and should best be checked on an individual basis.

Contact us for more details and terms at;